The Weekend Blog: After Champs on Good Friday the best is yet to come

He, my son, was probably about ten, big man now, just south of fifty,  when on the way home one day, I remember the exact road, he asked me the most important question in life. Daddy what is life all about? And having been properly schooled by my spiritual mentor then, the late Bishop, pastor then, Herman Spence, and having been tutored properly about Jesus, by my dear mother ( who certainly did not spare the rod of correction, when, she thought it necessary.. and yet I loved her so much), I didn’t have to think about a clever answer. This Word came to mind:
For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do. Ephesians 2:10 NIV. That’s the big picture about life. Not going to, nor, running at Champs, as I was privileged to do – was in the first final that the great DQ, Don Quarrie won –  as I thought as youngster attending Jamaica College. Not  loving and providing for my family – a gift from God – which why, in the first instance, I decided to become a Family Physician. And then was blessed  and sustained, by the love and appreciation of my patients,  and their prayers. As a result, I told my children to work, not for money,  but that people will pray for you! Not looking forward always to the day when my political party would win the elections – been there done that,  moved along. Not waiting every four years for the greatest show on earth, when Brazil would win the World Cup. Not hoping to go back to Africa one day, like Jah Rastafari! Not hoping and praying for grandchildren, spoiling them rotten,  and then sending then back to their parents for correction – we did none of that.  Not hoping and praying for a long life and good health, and enough money to enjoy retirement. This as ultimately, ” our times are in the hands of God”. Not in the advanced technology of the age to save life, nor in our efforts to live a healthy lifestyle.
But as much as the Word I was led to share with son, many moons ago, is important in our walk with God, this week,  after writing to my church in the link below, the Lord added further clarity. That life, the big picture, is about two things. On the one hand, forgiveness of Sin. And on the other hand, acceptance of the gift of Salvation. #RedemptionStory. Both of which will be celebrated next week, on Good Friday and Easter Sunday. Right after Champs, after all the medals have been given out,  the best is yet to come. For as the song in the video, reminds us, again, as I have shared it before, ” If it had not been for the Lord, where would we, my family and I, and all of us in this broken and fallen world be.”. Eternally separated from our Creator God. A hell of a thing!  Been playing it all Lent. And will continue after Champs and Lent. Long after!
https://danielgodsurelywilldeliver.wordpress.com/

Author: lucienbloggingforjesus

Christian medical Doctor and Evangelist involved in promoting road safey

Leave a comment